Prices and awards

The Paläontologische Gesellschaft is particularly proud to be able to honour its members and deserving personalities, young scientists, collectors and private individuals by awarding a number of prices.

The Society awards a particularly attractive prize to young scientists (Tilly Edinger Award), it awards a prize to deserving collectors (Zittel Medal) and it advises the Alberti Foundation on the award of the Friedrich von Alberti Award, which is awarded alternately to a professionally active palaeontologist and a private collector or hobby palaeontologist who has rendered outstanding services to palaeontology.

Information about the awards

The prizes and awards of the Paläontologische Gesellschaft are awarded by the Managing Board or Advisory Board on the proposal of members. The Managing Board and Advisory Board then decide on the submitted proposals at a meeting.

For the Tilly Edinger Award, candidates who have not yet reached the age of 35 are nominated by the supervisor of their doctoral thesis. After the candidate has been proposed, he or she sends his or her application documents to the office of the Paläontologische Gesellschaft, including a summary of the planned lecture, a curriculum vitae with a description of the scientific career and a list of publications. The application deadline is determined by the circular of the annual conference.

The Fossil of the Year is appointed by a commission on its own initiative. Any museum or research institute, as well as private collectors can submit a proposal.


Paläontologische Gesellschaft
Weismüllerstr. 45
60314 Frankfurt am Main
Tel.: 069 / 400 3019 71
Fax: 069 / 400 3019 74
Email: geschaeftsstelle(at)

Newsletter bestellen
Mitglied werden
Unsere Datenschutzerklärung


Latest news

Robert Noll from Tiefenthal (Rheinland-Pfalz) and Volker Dietze from Nördlingen are the winners of the Alberti Award 2020.

Read more

On 16 November, our long-time and honorary member Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Friedrich Strauch died at the age of 84. The Managing and Avisory Board of the...

Read more

Mit den GeoInsights wollen der DVGeo und seine 4 Trägergesellschaften DGG, DGGV, DMG und PalGes Studierenden, Berufseinsteigern und YoungProfessionals...

Read more