Tilly Edinger Award

The Tilly Edinger Award, which is endowed with 2,500 EUR, is aimed at young scientists under 35 years of age and is awarded for special research achievements within palaeontology and related sciences.

The award has been awarded since 2004. In selecting the award-winner, the focus is on the interdisciplinarity, innovation and methodological diversity of the young researcher and the submitted work. With this award, the Paläontologische Gesellschaft wants to set an example, despite all the constraints of economy, to promote the motivation and work of young researchers in palaeontology. The Paläontologische Gesellschaft would like to use the award to commemorate the palaeontologist Tilly Edinger (1897 - 1967), who was the first palaeontologist who founded the branch of research of comparative paleoneurology.

Tilly Edinger

Tilly Edinger (1897 - 1967) embodied the virtues that characterize the award named after her: scientific interest, the courage to break new ground and the perseverance to set and achieve (scientific) goals.

The founder of palaeoneurology and internationally respected scientist had to leave Germany after 1933 and found a new home in the USA. In spite of the bad experiences she had had in Germany, after the Second World War, she put all her personality into getting German palaeontologists recognized again.

Winners of the Tilly Edinger Award

(listed after awarding year)

2013 Luo Cui (Göttingen)
  Jan Fischer (Freiberg)
2012 Katharina Anna Bastel (Wiener Neustadt)
  Julia Ann Schultz (Bonn)
2009 Joachim Haug (Ulm)
2007 Daniela Schwarz-Wings (Basel)
  Matthias López Correa (Erlangen)
2006 Klaus Wolkenstein (Heidelberg)
2005 Max Wisshak (Erlangen)
2004 Oliver Wings (Hannover)


Paläontologische Gesellschaft
Schumannstr. 144
63069 Offenbach am Main
Tel.: 069 / 403 585 77
Fax: 069 / 403 560 26
Email: geschaeftsstelle(at)palges.de
Internet: www.palges.de

Newsletter bestellen
Mitglied werden
Unsere Datenschutzerklärung


Latest news

Wir freuen uns sehr, mitteilen zu können, dass die Anmeldung zur 93. Jahrestagung der Paläontologischen Gesellschaft 2022 (19.09.-23.09.2022 in...

Read more

Nach nun 2 Jahren ohne ein Arbeitskreistreffen Wirbeltierpaläontologie, freuen wir uns, Sie/Euch vom 22.7. bis 24.7. zum 47. Treffen persönlich in...

Read more